Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Barkingside 2 Takeley 2  (Gordon Brasted Memorial Trophy 1st Round)

Takeley Win 4-2 Penalties

Monday evening’s Gordon Brasted Memorial Trophy was a classic game of two halves as Takeley went in at the break with a two-goal cushion which Barkingside were able to level in the second half – before going on to lose the penalty shootout.


The opening goal came as early as the 3rd minute after a defensive  error by Akil Clarke was punished by  George Wappert  who took his chance and slotted past Wilkinson Boeteng to give Takeley an early lead.


Tony Cookey nearly capitalised on a ball over the top soon afterwards but wasn’t able to get ball under control and Takeley cleared their lines. But the early goal put fire in Takeley’s belly and they were starting to pass and move the ball about nicely.


The second goal duly came in the 13th minute when a peach of a free kick from Mick Barrett sailed past Boateng.  Boateng was soon called upon again,  claiming the ball from the foot of Mitchell Das and Best Toke also had to head away a dangerous looking cross as Takeley continued their blitzkrieg.


Ronnie Yates, the Takeley keeper had to rush out of his box to kick away a ball but apart from that the he  was a virtual spectator.  Takeley were solid at the back when they needed to be with the short, tight passing constantly keeping the ball in Barkingside’s half. Another  Takeley goal was scored after a fine passing move involving Jason Todd and Matthew Hurley ended up being slotted home by Reece Barrett but the linesman’s flag was up to see his effort chalked off.


A direct Das free kick then reached Wappert who got a touch on it but Boateng was able to catch the ball. Wappett also showed some flair on the left wing, beating a couple of Side players and then sending over a delightful ball that Das was able to fire off but the shot stopped by Boateng. The half time whistle came soon afterwards much to Barkingside’s relief.


Ben Clarke came off the subs bench and his first involvement was getting into a good position to fire off a dipping shot that Yates tipped away. It was the spark Side needed and in the 63rd minute a sweeping ball down the middle was played into the path of Michael Ogboin who placed his shot home.


Andre Humphreys then went on a mazy run that showed that Takeley were still dangerous going forward but they were not as penetrative as they had been in the first half.


Side then levelled up when Euan Taylor-Reid dinked a ball towards Cookey who thumped his shot past Yates. Two shots two goals – all of a sudden things were looking up for the hosts.


Brad Gayer had to do some defensive work towards the end of the half as a ball from left was delivered towards Wappert but the Side defender cleared the danger. Then the other substitute, Clark, had a shot from outside the box that whistled past the post. Boateng also had to come out and claim a couple of deep crosses in the closing stages.


The penalty shootout started with Barkingside taking the first penalty which Michael Ogboin duly despatched. Fred Burrell took and converted Takeley’s first penalty. But Barkingside where only able to score one further penalty as Tony Cookey’s effort was sandwiched between a saved Brad Gayer penalty and a Bradley Joseph  effort that was placed wide. Nick Barrett, Reece Barrett and Andre Humphreys all scored their kicks which meant that Takeley won the game 4-2 on penalties and now go on to meet Hackney Wick at the Old Spotted Dog in the 2nd Round.


Barkingside: Wilkinson Boeteng, Akil Clarke, Michael Sherwood (Brad Gayer 50’), David Etcheri, Euan Taylor-Reid, Best Toke, Jayden Mitchell-Brown (Ben Clarke 50’), Joe Newbold, Michael Ogboin, Bradley Joseph, Tony Cookey.

Scorers – Michael Ogboin (63’), Tony Cookey (76’).

Penalty Scorers – Michael Ogboin, Tony Cookey.


Takeley: Ronnie Yates, Frank Oatham, Andre Humphreys, Mick Barrett, Matt Gill, Fred Burrell, Mitchell Das (William Green 46’), Jason Todd (Bryn Thorpe 78’), Matthew Hurley, Reece Barrett, George Wappert.

Scorers- George Wappert (3’), Mick Barrett (13’).

Penalty Scorers – Fred Burrell, Nick Barrett, Reece Barrett, Andre Humphreys.


Report by Scott Lanza